Books, Fan-based blogs and sites I am currently experiencing.

I am an avid book reader. I love the way you can forget your reality for a little while and disappear into another world. Whether it be a historically accurate biography, a spiritual self-helper, or a fictional novel with a mysterious plot, I am quite content to turn off Doc McStuffins, Max and Ruby, Aristocats or Dumbo, put away the toys, pour a fresh cup of coffee and curl up on the couch to just forget my life for a while. There is also something very special in finding a particular book that stirs your soul. It might be the authors use of language, the story line itself, the tone of the book, the setting in which the characters are engulfed in or maybe its as simple to you as the names of the characters. You find yourself rereading the book (or if your lucky, a whole series), a dozen times or more. The characters becoming more like friends then a fictional story. Well my friends, I have found that series, and let me tell you, that although I read a lot and I continue to enjoy all different genres of books, this one has made me completely crazy.

I started reading the Outlander series, by Diana Gabaldon, in 1999 (I think). My ex-boyfriends Aunt had the 3rd book of the series (which I did not know was a series at the time), in her bookshelf and I was horribly bored. I was a senior in high school at the time, I m pretty sure my ex was working and so was his aunt and I was stuck at her house. I grabbed the book (because it was the most interesting one), and next thing I knew, my ex was home and I was just finishing the book. I could not put it down! I then informed my ex and his aunt that I was keeping the book (she didn’t care), and I promptly went to the local book store to get the first 2 books. Needless to say, book #8 is coming out June, 2014, I have the rest of them in my bookcase (proudly displayed), and they are making a TV series on Starz which is also coming out this summer. I have also joined up with other fans on websites, social media and emailed newsletters and I feel like a complete lunatic for even admitting to all this. BUt seriously, if I could ever recommend a book or series to anyone who loves a mix of genres in a reading experience, this one is it! It’s a fictional novel with factual historic value. It has time travel, a passionate love between the two main characters that spans generations (literally), and a mystery in the story line that will keep you guessing in every chapter. And ladies, it is based in the Scotland Highlands featuring men who wear kilts. I mean, come on already

However, my kids think its awesome. I let them watch the trailer that just came out for the TV show (although they will not be watching the show. The producers have made it clear that they are staying true to the books and it will not be child appropriate. Trust me.), and because they see me with these books all the time, they are starting to become good readers as well! You can’t lose! Now, there choice of books are a lot different then mine, but I think it’s neat how I can pick up a book and sit down to read it and next thing you know, my 12 year old has his current favorite out, my 8 year old pulls out the latest library selection from his bookbag and my 1 year old sits in her tinkerbell chair with her board book of baby animals. It never lasts for long, but I can maybe get a page read before something breaks my concentration. Oh, and in case any of you other Moms and Dads out there, that may need some help getting your older kids to actually read, the rule in my house is this: If there is a movie coming out that you want to see, and it was a book first, you must read the book BEFORE you can go watch the movie. Works everytime and it will even help them along academically in school. 

You get a great sense of camaraderie as you dive into these public forums and social media groups. Questions and theories that you have had are all of a sudden shared and answered and it doesn’t matter how dumb you feel in the “outside world”, theses women (and yes, men too), understand you and accept you wholeheartedly. No matter what age, background, experiences or even political views, we all share a common love. Jamie Fraser and Claire Beauchamp Randall Fraser. ‘Nuff said. Now I don’t normally post on the feeds, or read every single comment, but I do read most of the main posts and I will comment on things that may bring a different insight into a thought. My main goal is to learn more for my own reading pleasure. Yes I know thats selfish, but thats what reading is to me. My own selfish pleasure. It’s my time out.

Point being, if I choose to be part of a “fandom”, immerse myself in an ill-logical reality and decide to travel somewhere to meet an author so I can giggle like a schoolgirl and make myself look like an idiot, then so be it. I will. And I am going to. Because let’s face it, there are worse things in this life to be obsessed with. Like Justin Beiber and Kanye West. Those people just need a freaking Intervention.

 

Author: crazymommamel

I am a stay at home Mom of 3 kids and a loving wife to the greatest husband there is. Be jealous. I know I am :) My kids were born in 2001, 2005 and 2012, so I am definitely in over my head and very busy! And if that doesn't make me crazy, we are farmers. I love Agriculture and I do what I can to help my industry educate those that are open to learning the truth about what we do. My oldest two children are boys and my youngest is a girl. You can learn more about them under the "Family" tab. You can also learn more about my awesome Hubby, who is literally my best of friends, and the love of my life. Without him, I don't know where I would be. I am in no way a professional blogger or a great writer, so I apologize for any grammatical errors, or whole paragraphs that may or may not make any sense. :)

Leave a Reply

